Vancouver's Community-Driven Concert Calendar

  Bookmark and Share

Upcoming Shows

no upcoming shows listed

Past Shows

Fri. November 25th 2016
Rickshaw Theatre (No Minors)
Dark Tranquillity, Swallow The Sun, Enforcer, Starkill
Fri. September 21st 2012
Rickshaw Theatre (No Minors)
Kreator, ACCEPT, Swallow The Sun
Wed. September 22nd 2010
Rickshaw Theatre (All Ages)
KATATONIA, ORPHANED LAND, Swallow The Sun, Winter Of Freedom
Thu. April 22nd 2010
The Red Room (No Minors)
Finntroll, Moonsorrow, Swallow The Sun, Sinned, Titans Eve
View All Past (6)

Swallow The Sun

Death / Doom from Finland
other sites: myspace
Unknown - Confirmed: May. 9, 2012 (Awaiting Update)
The death/doom luminaries of Finland, Swallow the Sun, started at the turn of the millennium when guitarist Juha Raivio collected a group of friends around him.

The band's first recording, Out of this Gloomy Light demo, was recorded in January 2003 and has become a rare collectors item. This demo also brought them their first record deal with Firebox Records.

With their debut The Morning Never Came Swallow the Sun were elected newcomer of the year by Inferno Magazine and received a full 5 K review in Kerrang. The album was quoted: “One of doom metals finest moments to date”.

Ghosts of loss, the band's second full length album climbed to number 8 on the Finnish album charts. This rare occasion, along with heavy touring both in Finland and abroad, laid the groundwork for Swallow the Sun's skyrocketing success.

In September 2006 Swallow the Sun recorded Hope, which was released in January 2007, and hit position 3 on the Official Finnish Album Chart, a feat never before achieved anywhere in the world with a doom album and an achievement which “undoubtedly won't be repeated unless Swallow the Sun do it themselves”.

The 2008 release, Plague of Butterflies EP is a 35 minute long three part song of crushing gloom, beauty and despair. It is the story of an old hermit, deep woods, loneliness and the plague. The release also included the rare Out of This Gloomy Light demo that got them signed back in 2003. Never before has the band shown such polarity, ranging from demented screams of desperation to moving, heartrending melodic passages.
Plague of Butterflies was released on September 17th in Europe by Spinefarm Records where it crashed into the Number 1 spot on the Finnish charts in its first week. The EP was released in the US on September 23rd, and was followed by an extensive Finnish and American tour in early 2009.

On May 18th 2009 Swallow the Sun announced that Kai Hahto of Wintersun will be joining to fill the void left by former drummer Pasi Pasanen.
No audio samples have been linked to this profile.

Current Lineup

Mikko Kotamäkivox
Juha Raivio guitars
Markus Jämsenguitars
Aleksi Munter keyboards
Matti Honkonen bass
Kai Hahto drums
Status: Unknown
- Last confirmed May. 9, 2012